Many museums charge for admission while others are free.Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Generally speaking, museums are considered to be public facilities, which means they should they should be free to entry. Yet I believe the charge for admission is necessary, that’s to say the tickets do more good than harm.

Museum is a place to demonstrate history and culture. There is no doubt that cost-free museums will attract more visitors, and the exhibits inside will be more widely known. On the contrary, charged museums have fewer viewers, so the original intention of establishing a museum cannot be achieved very well. This is the main drawbacks of entrance fee.

However, despite the fact that fewer people may choose the charged museums, I think this is not a bad thing completely. First of all, museums need a certain amount of money to keep working. If a museum is always free, it is likely to lack the funds to maintain and upgrades, this would be not conducive to enhancing the experience of tourists. Secondly, the value of the exhibits in the museum varies, some small museums rely mostly on private donations, the cost is relatively low. As for some bigger museums, their artworks worth a lot of money, or they have cost a lot when they were collected at past time. For such a museum, even with the support of the local government, fees are very necessary.

Last but not least, tickets are a threshold in many cases. For those who want to go to the museum, learn about history, or improve their artistic literacy, they won’t mind paying a price. From another perspective, proper consumption can also make people more focused on viewing art. I dare say, improving the experience of tourists is more meaningful than simply pursuing quantity.