University should accept equal number of men and women in every subject. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, the debate about gender dais is quite fierce. There is an argument that all subjects in universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students. As far as i am concerned, i disagree with this point of view. The following essay will discuss the reasons i disagree.

First of all, it is impossible for universities to recruit equal number of male and female students. To be frank, boys and girls have different strengths usually. For boys, they are more likely to be interested in majors like engineering and mechanical. Yet for girls, language and nursing might be their hobbies. Therefore, these professions will produce gender imbalances inevitably. If an university insists to accept equal boys and girls for these majors, many students will fail to enter their ideal college.

Secondly, the choice of major is out of the willing of the students themselves, universities have no right to restrict students’ choices. The same sex ratio looks like an equality, however, it is an inequality itself. Students will be confused when choosing a major because they do not know whether this major have more boys or girls.

Admittedly, not all the boys have no talent for language learning. Actually, there are also girls gifted in mathematics. However, individual differences do not represent the whole. Universities should focus on the overall level of knowledge of the students, not the sex ratio. Gender-restricted schools will have difficulty recruiting students who best meet school standards.

From what has been discussed above, i firmly believe that it is impractical and unnecessary to recruit the same number of boys and girls in every subject.