Having children later in life

It is common in today’s society that many women delay parenthood until they have climbed the career ladder. While starting a family later in life has some certain drawbacks, the benefits are much more considerable.

The major drawback of going through pregnancy later in life to woman is undeniable. A major of modern-day women prefer prioritizing education and career to starting a family. This is due to the desire to pursue advanced degrees as well as the economic and housing uncertainty as it cost highly to raise a child. However, not only is it difficult for old women to conceive pregnancy but they will also experience heath problems during pregnancy. For example, they may risk a higher possibility of giving birth to a child with genetic disorder and miscarriage or complications.

Despite the possible disadvantages mentioned above, I am more convinced of the benefits of late childbirth. Before embarking on parenthood, both the man and woman must take into consideration about their financial ability to support a family and bring up their offspring. With the availability of contraceptive methods, parents now can delay parenthood until they are financially ready to bring up their offspring. It was uncommon in the past when women often started a marriage at an early age and gave birth to many children. It had led to population explosion and a severe shortage of food in some parts of the world, including Vietnam.

In conclusion, while there are undoubtedly downsides to give birth at later stages of life, I am completely in favor of having babies later in life since their economic benefits are much more considerable.