Without capital punishment (the death penalty) our lives are less secure and crimes ofviolence increase. Capital punishment in essential to control violence in society.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Judiciary is the third wheel of democracy. It maintains the law and order in a country by sending the culprits behind the bars. However, some people believe that death penality is essential to control the crime in our society. I agree with this statement upto some extent.

First of all, this strict punishment will restrain the offenders as they will have a fear of loosing their life. In this way there will be less criminal activities in our surroundings. Moreover, it will eliminate the hardcore criminals like terrorists and serial killers which are major threat to our society.

Nextly, it will result into faster court decisions. Thus, people donot have to wait for a long time to get justice. It has been rightly said that "justice delayed is justice denied."

However, we cannot give this penality to everyone. Since the intention behind committing the crime should also be accounted before deciding the punishment. For instance, a person who kills somebody in a act of self defence cannont be treated as a murderer. Moreover, it will be not viable to give death penality to small offenders like chain snatchers, thief and other who create nuisanse.

To sum up, I can conclude that hard core criminals like terrorists should be hanged till death while other small criminals should be sent to rehablitation centres.