The idea that citizens nowadays are drinking a vast amount of sugary beverages. There are a number of reasons for this tendency, and some measures can be taken to combat this problem.

There is one primary reason why people are absorbing more sugary drinks. This can be attributed to a marketing campaign for various companies which is targeted at teenagers and youngsters. This is simply because the more the youth consumes, the more money they contribute to the profit of firms. One example of this marketing is that when people come to a certain restaurant, they will be likely to choose a combo of sugary drinks and main dishes rather than solitary main dishes. The reason is that the price of the combo option is slightly cheaper than the main ones.

However, the government can tackle this phenomenon by two effective solutions. The first approach is that national and local authorities should put high taxes on soft drinks. As a result, sweet drink consumption will fall significantly due to the expensive cost of sweet beverages.

Secondly, by increasing the young generation's awareness about health, they will have a profound insight into ways that keep fit. When understanding that intake of a large number of sugary drinks could lead to numerous diseases including cardiovascular diseases, diabetes, and obesity, the youth would try to avoid those beverages.

In conclusion, the principal reason for consuming too many soft drinks is the advertisement of corporations, various steps could be taken to alleviate this issue.