IELTS 6 Test 1 Writing Task 2 - Academic

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree with these views?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Since commercials become the major marketing tool for consumer goods, more and more companies take its advantage to boost products sales, which leads to some concern in society on commercial’s growing impact of misleading people’s true needs of them. In my point of view, I strongly support this idea that advertising do demonstrate its magic power in product sales, instead of reflecting the true needs of customers.

To begin with, majority of commercials use exaggerated computer effects to overrate products functions and quality. For instance, a famous fast food chain always make their hamburger large and fresh in their advertisements, and those who bite the burger always look extremely happy and satisfied. However, when we buy the real burger rarely can we find the same burger we see from the commercials. To some extent, it is a way of deceiving consumers in order to attract them to purchase their products. Furthermore, some commercials also use celebrities’ images to convince consumer that the products are favorable for famous people, which works especially well if the celebrities have a wide ranges of fans. The fans will not take a second thought on the real quality of the products but pay for anything to support their idols.

Admittedly, some may disagree by coming up with the idea that we are able to identify the truth from all the fancy effects on commercials and thus make decision whether to buy or not. However, this theory is only applicable with those who has experience with the subjected or similar products, but not to those lack of similar experience previously, especially for children, and old people. These two group of peoples are more susceptible to advertisement in the result of insufficient knowledge of the latest products, which they can relate to before making judgement on products’ genuineness.

To conclude, the advertisement is created to boost sales rather than reflect the needs from society, and it will definitely bring harm to consumers by its exaggerated effects. Hence, we should think carefully before purchasing.