The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments

on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For many years, road accidents have caused numerous consequences, with millions of deaths and injuries annually in the whole world. Despite the authority’s regulations that attempt to reduce the impacts, the issue still appears to be serious. Accordingly, many people have suggested that posing stricter fines on people violating the law is the only way to ensure road safety. In my opinion, while punishments are essential to enforce the law, there are other measures that can be taken in order to improve road safety.

On the one hand, it is widely believed that the major cause of accidents on roads is the driving offenses. For example, overspeeding is an popular problem that police officers often have to deal with. Since these actions tend to bring a great deal of risks to the driver as well as the surrounding people, they need stopping promptly. Strict penalties such as fining large amounts of money or banning offenders from driving would significantly decrease the number of incidents, eventually making travelling remarkably safer.

On the other hand, there are many factors which contribute to the commuting accidents. To begin with, the poor conditions of some roads, especially highways, have caused many car crashs and other incidents. Thus, it is also important for the government to upgrade the infrastructure, and put warning signs on the potentially dangerous tracks. Furthermore, the weather can sometimes create some difficulties for drivers, such as the limited eyesight in heavy rains. In such situations, people travelling should be cautious and may reduce their speed, so that the unwanted accidents are avoided.

In conclusion, it is true that driving offenses are the primary threat to travellers; therefore, those behaviours should be strictly punished. Nevertheless, there are other reasons for vehicle crashing, which people need to deal with to ensure the safety when commuting on roads.