Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed. What is the reason for doing this? Is this a negative or positive development?

In the modern society, many parents expect their children to become extraordinary people. In my opinion, this is a negative trend that may lead to unnecessary pressure put on children. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons for this phenomenon, as well as giving some arguments explaining my point of view on the problem.

Considering the causes, I believe there are two main reasons. To begin with, society seems to be becoming increasingly competitive, which concerns a large number of parents. For example, house prices and other living expenses have been risen remarkably, compared to 30 years ago. Therefore, many people fear that their children cannot afford a desirable life unless they are so outstanding. Next, people who fail to achieve their ambitions when they were young also might expect their children to fulfill their dreams. This can cause substantial pressure to some youngsters, especially when they wish to go on their own paths.

As regards the consequences, I think this trend is more likely to bring more disadvantages than advantages. First of all, an exceeding amount of expectation could cause stress, depression and other mental issues to young people. For instance, in some Asian countries, many students are in constant anxiety because they cannot achieve any prominent academic achievements. Secondly, as society is changing rapidly, the definition of success differs from generation to generation. With that being said, the successful role model that older people give their children may be old-fashioned, or even inappropriate in the future. Thus, giving children early orientations to follow does not seem to be advisable.

All in all, there are many people putting high expectations on their children because of their personal dreams and opinions. Although this is usually because they want their children to have a desirable life, it leads to some negative outcomes, making it a negative trend.