IELTS WRITING TASK 2

Task 2: It is a natural process for animal species to become extinct (e.g. dinosaur, dodo…) There is no reason why people should try to prevent this from happening. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinions are divided as to whether the extinction of several animal species is inevitable or it could be otherwise hampered and stopped by humans’ endeavors. While I am convinced that the former point of view is reasonable, I also believe in the latter one as my essay will elaborate on both.

On the one hand, it is undoubted that some animals starting to disappear from the Earth were just part of a natural process as it is virtually impossible to bring a halt to their destruction. A perfect illustration of this point can be inferred from the dinosaur. The extinction commenced such a long time ago as meteors crashed our planet and completely eradicated all relevant species at that time. From my perspective, humans could do nothing to change the disastrous result; however, this led to the domination of human beings in the contemporary world. Therefore, we are the ones who benefit directly from this such catastrophe and I assume we have no reason to affect decisions from the nature itself. To add further credence to my assertion, it is common to have some old species replaced by new kinds of animals as the natural evolution is endless.

On the other hand, my viewpoint is that humans should make strenuous efforts in order to discontinue or at least delay the devastating process. As far as I am concerned, bio-diversity is something which deserves our consideration. By protecting these kinds of endangered species, we do make attempts and endeavors to flourish our environment as the number of animals remains unchanged, which certainly does not bring imbalance to wild habitats. For example, Indonesia has been well-known for its celebrated safari which is regarded as the best place to bring utmost security to animals on the verge of extinction such as the white tiger, the rhino, etc. From my perception, scientist and environmentalists of this nation acknowledge huge benefits accruing from this reservation as these animals prove valuable to scientific researches and the stability of bio-diversity as well as the eco-system.

In conclusion, this still remains a controversial topic. While I hold my viewpoint that the natural extinction is nearly unfeasible to manage, I am still convinced that we as humans do play an integral part in protection and therefore have an obligation to keep the intact nature of the animal world.