If people could choose between a life without working or a life spending too much time working, people would choose a life without work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Most people do not have the option of spending a life without working because they need to earn a living in order to survive. While some people enjoy their work, I agree that the majority would choose a life without working if they had the opportunity.

On the one hand, job satisfaction may affect people's choice to continue working, even if their job involves a heavy workload. A number of people who have ambitions in their career or are able to fulfill their passion through their job would feel satisfied while doing the tasks they enjoy. For example, organic farmers take pleasure in producing healthy, fresh food sustainably, living in harmony with nature. Their working hours are sometimes long, and work on the farm is often labour-intensive.

On the other hand, I believe that most people would cease working if they have a chance because work load nowadays has deprive people of time for countless private businesses. A typical white-collar worker usually spend at least 9 hours at work including lunch time, and after deducting 8 hours of sleeping, not to mention time for travelling, meals and unnamable errands, one has only 7 hours left for doing home chores or taking care of children. For a working single mother with a toddler, for instance, 7 hours is insufficient for her to keep the house organized and it would be impossible to spare time for learning something new or taking up a new hobby. Besides, the usual burden to make ends meet has always stresses working people. Therefore, if there is an opportunity to escape working, they would not hesitate to grab that chance.

In conclusion, although some types of work that offer people feelings of satisfaction are exceptions, I adhere to the notion that most people would prefer not to work to do something more fulfilling with their lives.