scientific research should be funded by government rather than commercial organisation to what extent do you agree or disagree?

Scientific researches are often costly and conducted in long terms, therefore some commentators have stated that private enterprises should be responsible for carrying out and monitoring these kinds of research. While this may have some certain benefits, I would argue that these trivial merits are outweighed by enormous disadvantages.

On the one hand, private companies respond more rapidly to demand than governments do. Unlike government subsidies, which are divided into countless portions aiming at various social beneficiaries, the available and plentiful funds of private firms can easily support scientists promptly according to demands. For example, during the outbreak of Covid-19 recently, Vingroup corporation has mobilized resources to manufacture mechanical ventilators and temperature monitoring devices for Vietnamese people. The group also sponsored 20 billion Vietnam Dong for the clinical test of made in Vietnam vaccine called COVIVAC.

On the other hand, there are significant benefits if governments determine the direction of scientific research for the well-being of their people. Firstly, a government is definitely more sustainable than a company, resulting in more stable funds for researches. A private enterprise may declare bankruptcy, which will terribly affect on-going studies depending totally on it. Besides, an ultimate goal of firms is profit, therefore, if a specific investigation costing a large amount of money yet seems fruitless to them, they may abandon the whole project. Secondly, the government can ensure legal and less harmful researches for the society. Private companies while pursuing profit may ignore consequences to the environment such as discharging unprocessed industrial waste, or take illegal actions such as avoid paying taxes. These activities will lead to environmental degradation, which negatively affect dwellers’ health as well as social welfare. Government, under the pressure of taking conscientious care for its residents, would not allow those activities to happen.

In conclusion, although scientific researches funded by private companies gain advantages from available money resource, placing the responsibility for scientific research in government hands far outweigh the aforementioned merits.