In some countries young people are not only richer, but also safer and healthier than ever before. However, they are often less happy. What do you think are the reasons for this and what can be done to help?

It is true that in several parts of the world, particularly in developed countries, the youth of today enjoy wealthier lives and better health, but are not necessarily happier, despite all the material possessions they hold. I would argue that there is one principal reason can explain for this situation, and some steps should be taken to deal with this issue.

The influence of social media is at the root of the dissatisfaction of today’s youngsters. "Peer pressure" is a word that people hear a lot recently; it is the stress stemmed from seeing friends' pictures and posts about their successful achievements, a huge sum, fancy trips or stays in luxurious hotel and feel inferior to them. This is a serious hurt to the youth's big ego, as they may consider themselves to be weak, worthless and bear a stress that they must strive to reach high peaks set by their peers. Besides, spending a great deal of time gluing eyes on mobile phone also deprives youngsters of interacting with other people. Face-to-face conversation, touches and embraces are miraculous source of comfort and encouragement that make human happy. Hence, failure to maintain direct contact with surrounding people also leads to a less satisfied life.

There are, indeed, a solution to this worrying problem and it derives from the inner mind of each person. The most important point is young people should bear in mind that everyone has his or her own pace and distinct definition of success as well as happiness. They should stick to their own paths and goals, then attempt to be an improved version of themselves to meet those objectives rather than to compare with their mates and try to achieve the same triumphs. Spending less time on social media to take conversation with family members is also a great help, as one can stay away from toxic environment on the Internet and receive more love as well as motivation to feel more confident in life.

In conclusion, young people can mitigate the negative effects of social media on their life by setting their own targets to reach instead of comparing with other friends, as well as seeking talks and support from their beloved ones.