Some think that children should start school as early as possible, while others believe that they should start school at the age of seven. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In several education systems around the world, children starts compulsory education at the age of 7. While a good few people are in favour of children starting to learn formally at school as soon as possible, I subscribe to the notion that formal education at school should start when children turn 7 years old.

On the one hand, formal learning should begin as soon as possible because early childhood is the best time for off-springs to assimilate knowledge. Scientifically speaking, human brains contain 15 billion brain cells at birth; however, this huge amount starts to decrease immediately after a child is born without growing back. That explains why children's acquisition ability are amazing, in both velocity and magnitude. Therefore, children should start learning as soon as possible, while the brain cells have not yet died out.

On the other hand, formal common education received earlier than 7 years old may negatively effect children's imagination. Common education in a class will, to some extent, force children to comply with a certain way of thinking and form a concept that there is only one answer to a question. For example, if a three year-old who never heard of a "circle" is asked what a circle looks like, he or she may give various answers such as the moon, the plates instead of a solid answer "circle". Being taught the definition of "circle" too early will prevent them from thinking before answering and gradually will blunt their immature imagination ability.

In conclusion, although starting school before 7 has particular benefits, I think that children should not attend school until the age of 7 to avoid grave effect to their young minds.