If people could choose between a life without working or a life spending too much time working, people would choose a life without work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Most people do not have the option of spending a life without working because they need to earn a living in order to survive. While some people enjoy their work, I agree that the majority would choose a life without working if they had the opportunity.

On the one hand, some people want to work, even if their job involves a heavy workload. A few occupations offer a great deal of job satisfaction. For example, organic farmers have no career ambitions, but they take pleasure in producing healthy, fresh food sustainably, living in harmony with nature. The working hours are sometimes long, and on the farm the work is often labour-intensive. However, work which offers this type of fulfilment is hard to find.

On the other hand, I agree that most people would not want to work today because most jobs seem pointless. They are neither stimulating nor motivating, and seem to offer no benefit to the community. An indication of this is the increase in the number of days of sick leave taken by employees or the growing number of people, in the UK for instance, who volunteer to take early retirement. If they have just enough income to get by, then they are only too happy to spend their time doing things that are more rewarding in terms of their physical and mental well-being. Thus, it is not the case that most people are inherently lazy, but that most work today is neither satisfying nor useful, and people would avoid it given the chance.

In conclusion, although some types of work are exceptions, most people in our modern corporate world would prefer not to work and to do something more fulfilling with their lives.