If some people get a chance to choose between life without work or spending
most of the time working, then they would choose not to work. Do you agree
or disagree?
Globalization and capitalism have led to the rise of jobs opportunities and
labour in modern times. Due to the excessive requirements of this job market,
some feel, if given the option to choose between working long hours at the
office and not working at all, they would choose the latter. This essay agrees
with this notion as employees suffer from burnout, and lack the ability to focus
on their health.
A popular reason for employees to choose not to work is the strain on their
psyche. They are expected to remain at work for long hours and produce
results in short periods of time, allowing them a small window in which they
can recuperate. This prevents the efficient balance of work and life, leading to
mental and emotional burnout, thus incapacitating them from functioning
effectively. For example, employees worked from home during the Covid-19
lockdowns without a fixed time to log off, leading to long hours. This caused
many to quit their high paying jobs as they were mentally overwhelmed.
Compromises on the priority of one’s health is another cause for individuals to
make such a decision. The time-consuming careers of many individuals prevent
them from focusing on their physiological and cognitive needs. Many
companies lack sufficient health coverage for its employees, who work
tirelessly for the profit of their organization. They do so without regard for
their own physical well-being, which affects them as they age.
In conclusion, the growth in the commitments required by employers in
modern times has been taxing on its employees and has led to extreme
burnout and other health issues as it is not prioritized. And so, this essay
agrees that is given a choice, people would rather not work than to work mind
numbingly long jobs.