illiteracy continues to be a concern in many countries. What are the causes and effects of it in society-?

It is true that the illiteracy rates, in some countries, have been on the increase and been viewed as a Third World problem. This issue must be alleviated because it is global and many people are suffering.

There are many reasons for illiteracy. First of all, the high level of poverty is the main cause of the problem. Most poor families are unable to afford educational fees for their off-springs; therefore, these children skip schools and start working at early ages. For example, many young people see labor jobs simply as a means of earning money, and they are happy if they are able to cover their own living expense and support their family. Another factor is poor educational systems. Most education institutions in developing countries are not designed to cope with huge volume of students, due to poor infrastructure and a lack of staff members.

There are some measures available for educational authorities to consider when dealing with this problem. Firstly, public funds could be invested into regenerating the schools' infrastructure. Constructing new modern buildings and training more teachers would reduce some of the problem. Another solution to solve the issue is to provide free or low-cost education until tertiary levels. This will either encourage young people to go to public schools, or guarantee the efficient number of well-educated citizens.

In conclusion, poverty and poor education system are two factors contributing to illiteracy rates. To deal with this problem, investment in school infrastructure and the introduction of free education are two viable solutions.