Imprionment

Nowadays, there is an increase in the number of people who express concern regarding the effective way to cope with criminals. However, it is a controversial issue that people should educate and do some job training for the offenders rather than send them to jails. From my perspective, I just partly agree with this opinion because of the following reasons.

Firstly, I strongly believe that the main function of prisons is punishing the criminals. Because individuals have to be responsible for their behavior, offenders have to receive suitable punishments for the crime that they committed. Therefore, dispossessing criminals from freedom until they feel regret for what they did is necessary.

Secondly, jails play an essential role in ensuring the public security. To be specific, severe punishment such as life imprisonment is an effective way to stop and prevent the number of criminals from appearances. For example, robbers pose a serious threat to public safety so they need to be isolated from society until they could distinguish right from wrong. Additionally, It is also the best way to calm the public opinions, especially the pains of victims.

Nevertheless, it is not to say that we should ignore the prisoner's opportunities to come back to society. In this case, educating and job training are effective tools to support them become people who can make contributions to society. However, this way is only right when they can recognize their mistakes.

In conclusion, although there are some doubts about the jail's functions, I still believe they play an indispensable role in society.