The increase in mobile phone use in recent years has transformed the way we live, communicate and do business. Mobile phones can also be the cause of social or medical problems. What forms do these problems take? Do you think the advantages outweigh the d

In recent times, usage of mobile phones has revolutionised our living, communicating and business style. Although we feel more connected, it has resulted in serious health and social issues. Health complications may range from headaches to deterioration of eyesight; whereas, social troubles vary from becoming an introvert to a consummate liar. I strongly believe, mobile phones’ usage has more positives than negatives.

One of the major health issues that is resulted from the excessive use of mobile phones is consistent headaches and deterioration of eyesight. This may be caused because of the increase in screen timings. To illustrate this point, the recommended screen timing by the World Health Organization is 8 hours in a day and not only professionals but also students spend a lot more time on the laptops and mobile which in turn results regular headaches and weakened eyesight. In addition, mobiles phones affect human behaviour. For example, people become less social and a liar. By this I mean that when people feel in touch with the world through their phone then they socialise less. About being a liar, when people can be reached anytime then they make excuses which makes them to a consummate liar.

Despite having the negative impacts, according to me mobile phones can be termed as an invention of the century. They have made various complex tasks easier. For example, food, medicines, groceries or anything is just a click away. Moreover, with the mobile phones, people can call or leave a text and are not required to wait for days to get a reply for the emails. This results in smoother personal as well as professional relations. Businesses also take the advantage of various financial facilities provided over the phone via apps.

To conclude, usage of mobile phones is required to be kept in check otherwise it will lead to loss of eyesight and headaches. It will also alter the behaviour. If the usage is kept controlled than the benefits far exceeds the disadvantages.