The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment.

What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

The increased production of consumer goods results in a plethora of harmful environmental effects. There are a number of reasons behind this problem, and several effective solutions that can be adopted by the government and consumers to salvage the situation.

Firstly, more demand for good production is synonymous with a scaled up requirement for material from natural resources such as wood, water, plants, electricity, which could lead to a despoil of natural habitats. For instance, more paper products are produced, more trees are cut down, and that can result in deforestation and even soil erosion. Besides, new production factories are being built and more chemical waste and emissions are released into nature, which definitely causes water and air pollution as well as threatens the existence of many marine and terrestrial animals. Finally, in the goods industry these days, there is a massive amount of disposable goods. They are non-biodegradable and can remain as waste for thousands of years, turning our planet into a huge landfill and causing the death of many creatures.

There are several actions that must be taken as soon as possible to reduce the negative impacts on our environment. The government should lay down strict laws and penalties for manufacturers that emit waste illegally and go beyond the standard so that the harm caused to the environment is minimal. Furthermore, it is ideal to have governmental support for renewable energy development with generous economic incentives like tax breaks. At the moment, many states in the US offer tax exemptions and incentives for businesses using green energy, and they can also purchase renewable energy at cheaper prices. Consumers also play an important role in reducing the bad effects. As consumers, we should change our throwaway behavior and utilize 3R, which means reduce, reuse, and recycle as much as possible. For example, we could have broken items repaired or plastic products reused rather than just throwing them away.

In conclusion, there are various reasons why the growth of consumerism contributes to climate change. Therefore, the government and every individual should join hands and take actions together in order to save our earth.