The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What is the cause of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

The deterioration of the environment is alarming in recent years. It is argued that the phenomenon could be attibutable to the expansion of consumer sector. The cause and splution for the issue will be elaborated below.

The main reason behind the argument stems from thr fact that chemicals use to produce shampoo, toothpaste and so forth produce a large amount of toxic waste. The wasted by-products would take years to be naturally processed. More importantly, the packaging of daily used products are mostly made from plastic, which leaves a large amount of carbon footprint on the wild. This is the main culprit of environmental contamination. Finally, the short cycle of these goods and overexploitation of advertising in selling these products, make them constantly demanded by the market and exacerbate the impact on the environment.

To cope with the increasing number of waste from the consumer industry, the intervention of government is of great importance. First, customers should be educated about the impact of the sector on the nature through videos, pictures, and social programs. By doing so, the government may discourage uses of products that could have negative impacts on the wild and motivate people to buy the ones having less effects on the planet. Another viable alternative is restrictions on manufacturers of the consumer goods. This would come under forms legislation on limitation of plastic use, standardized production procedure in order to reduce the amount hazardous components to the ecosystem. Likewise, the authorities should give rewards for firms that promote the use of eco-friendly ingredients. For instance, tax cut, subsidies and favorable policies should be granted for the companies. These strategies may not be able reverse the process of global warming or other upcoming disaster, but would slow down the progression.

In sum, waste from manufacturing and consuming of the consumer products are the main precursor of environmental destruction. Governmental parties could solve the issue by education for the public, and lawful interference.