- The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What is the cause of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

The significant increase of final goods brings about numerous adverse impacts on the natural environment. Ironning out this severe damage is an uphill, but not impossible. This essay give insight into the main causes and suggests some solutions to mitigate its detriment of the nature and the day-to-day life of human beings.

The consumer goods also called the final goods, are products bought for consumption by the average of consumer, so it is understandable that they cause detrimental environmental concerns in many ways. Firstly, the manufacturing of consumer goods releases hazardous air pollutants which can cause cancer, birth defects or other serious harms. Moreover, they pose a serious threat to the ecosystem when the felling is carried out for the company construction, tissues, fuel and even for the landfills to deposit the wastes including the toxic ones .That not only pushes some untamed animals to the brink of extinction on account of the habitat loss but also leads to ecological imbalance. Secondly, the production of consumer goods is the root cause of ocean pollution.Many studies show that enormous amounts of marine trash breeds the severe condition to the marine creatures. Notably, the marine trash encompasses all manufactured products including plastic items like shopping bag and beverage bottle, along with bottle caps, cigarette butts, food wrappers and fishing gear. All these trashes cause harmful impacts on ingestion, suffocation and entanglement of hundreds of marine species such as seabirds, whales, fishes and turtles. For instance, they mistake waste for prey and die of starvation as their stomachs become filled with plastic and because those plastics are long-lasting, it is challenging to remove them from the ocean immidiately.

Clearly, the unprecedented development of consumer products triggers the natural concerns and climate impact. However, there are few solutions which can help some nations confront with this pressing problem. Firsly, the governments can help citizens raise their awareness of numerous environmental issues caused by the consumer products through the social media so that the consumers change consumption habits to ensure that their purchasing does not harm the environment. Secondly, the companies should be encouraged to promote the sustainable consumption and production. Clearly, building the sustainability in consumption and production not only make the basic needs but also brings a better quality of life by minimizing the use of natural resources and toxic materials as well as the emission of the waste and pollutants over the life cycle of the service and product so as not to jeopardize the needs of future generation. Thirdly, the education is also a crucial element of setting a sustainable life for the young generation in the coming years. Lessons of environment should be taught in every school and kindergarden. Consequently, the students may adopt the sustainable practices at the very young age.

In conclusion, despite the severe impacts of the unsustainables patterns of consumption and production ,all nations should stiffen their resolve to confront with this urgen problem instead of depriving the green life of the next generation. But from my perspective, to deal with this is an uphill and the high determination is required from not only the governments but also every individuals worldwide.