The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What is the cause of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

The significant increase in final goods brings about numerous adverse impacts on the natural environment. Ironing out this severe damage is an uphill, but not impossible. This essay gives insight into the main causes and suggests some solutions to mitigate its detriment to the natural environment and the day-to-day life of human beings.

The consumer-goods are products bought for consumption by the average of consumer, so it is clearly shown that they cause detrimental environmental concerns in many ways. Firstly, the manufacturing of consumer goods releases hazardous air pollutants which can cause cancer, birth defects, or other serious harms. Moreover, they pose a serious threat to the ecosystem when the felling is carried out for the company construction, tissues, fuel, and even for the landfills to deposit the wastes including toxic wastes. That not only pushes some untamed animals to the brink of extinction on account of habitat loss but also leads to ecological imbalance. Secondly, the production of consumer goods is the root cause of ocean pollution. Many studies show that enormous amounts of marine trash breed severe conditions for marine creatures. Notably, marine trash encompasses all manufactured products including plastic items like shopping bags and beverage bottles, along with bottle caps, cigarette butts, food wrappers, and fishing gear. All these kinds of trash cause harmful impacts on ingestion, suffocation, and entanglement of hundreds of marine species such as seabirds, whales, fish, and turtles. For instance, they mistake waste for prey and die of starvation as their stomachs become filled with plastic and because those plastics are long-lasting, it is challenging to remove them from the ocean immediately. The unprecedented development of consumer products triggers natural concerns and climate impact. However, there are a few solutions that can help some nations confront this pressing problem. Firstly, governments can help citizens raise their awareness of numerous environmental issues caused by consumer products through social media so that consumers change their consumption habits to ensure that their purchasing does not harm the environment. Secondly, companies should be encouraged to promote sustainable consumption and production. Because building sustainability in consumption and production not only makes the basic needs but also brings a better quality of life by minimizing the use of natural resources and toxic materials as well as the emission of waste and pollutants over the life cycle of the service and product so as not to jeopardize the needs of the future generation. Thirdly, education is also a crucial element of setting a sustainable life for the young generation in the coming years. Lessons about the environment should be taught in every school and kindergarten. Consequently, the students may adopt sustainable practices at an early age.

In conclusion, despite the severe impacts of the unsustainable patterns of consumption and production, all nations should stiffen their resolve to confront this insurmountable problem instead of depriving the green life of the next generation. But from my perspective, dealing with this is an uphill, and high determination is required from not only the governments but also every individual worldwide