An increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. Why is this the case, and what solutions are possible?

With the rapid increase in the world’s population, the demand for consumer merchandise has surged conspicuously. To meet the requirements, many manufacturers produce a mass of goods with the ignorance of the consequences it may have on the environment. This essay will discuss the reasons and solutions which should be implemented to solve this issue.

The increase in the production of consumer commodities harms nature in several ways. Firstly, as more products are manufactured, more waste is generated. Such waste contains detrimental chemicals and is disposed of into the water supply plus the careless waste treatment system; as a consequence, the water and environment are polluted. Secondly, to meet the demand of purchasers, some factories use non-biodegradable materials such as glass, or plastic, which cannot decompose. To exemplify, these incorruptible accumulate in the environment and pollute the soil and water. If such wastes are burned, they will pollute the air.

Despite the indisputable aforementioned problems, there are many effective solutions to the issue of damaging the environment. Firstly, one way to tackle this problem is that companies should use more eco-friendly materials. For example, many coffee shops in Vietnam have replaced plastic straws with recyclable alternatives made of materials like paper or bamboo, which can influence the habit of using plastic straws for consumers. Secondly, the government can enforce sterner laws for factories disposing of contaminated waste into the river or any actions that damage the environment. Instead of warning, the council should heavily fine such factories to set a good example for other factories to be more careful with their waste disposal network. This method can help the government to win the trust and praise of domestic consumers through definitiveness and promptness in resolving the issue.

In conclusion, there are two main reasons why the environment is impacted by the growth of consumer products which are waste disposal and the usage of environmentally unfriendly materials. To address this problem, the city council and companies should join hands to make the products more eco-friendly by switching to greener materials and imposing more strict fines for individuals or companies that damage nature.