An increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. Why is this the case, and what solutions are possible?

In the modern world, a growth in production of consumer goods leads to the destruction of the natural environment. This situation occurs for numerous reasons. At the same time, there are a lot of solutions for individuals and governments that should be adopted to improve this case.

There are 2 primary reasons that should be mentioned. The first reason comes from the significant increase of populations. Overloaded residents bring about more consumer goods. As a consequence, a huge amount of garbage would cause pollution and destroy the natural environment. Secondly, fast consumption is a popular trend in a rapidly changing world. The circle life of a product is shortened while the demand of humans does not reduce. To respond to these needs, people have to utilize more human resources and natural resources, therefore resource depletion and energy soon becomes a threat.

However, fortunately, several measures could be taken to prevent this problem. The first solution would be sustainable production. Governments should issue policies to encourage a combination between using eco-friendly products with resource efficient production methods (such as reducing waste, recycling material, using renewable energy sources). Furthermore, it is essential to raise the perspective of residents. Consumers should be educated about what environmental impacts are caused by their choices. Thus, responsible consumption should be applied that includes buying fewer, focusing on quality items and supporting sustainable brands. Finally, collaboration among all governments, businesses and consumers play an important role in protecting the natural environment. Creating a sustainable society while preserving the environment requires collective effort from all.

All in all, it is clear that there are various reasons for the production of consumer goods that harm nature, and steps for addressing this challenge.