An increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the
natural environment. Why is this the case, and what solutions are possible?
It is true that there has been an enormous increase in the production of consumer goods
worldwide during the last two or three centuries. There has also been incalculable
environmental damage in this same period. While there are reasons to connect these two
trends, some solutions are possible to help prevent the ecological crisis which is resulting.
Two major causes of the damage caused to the natural environment by the growing
production of consumer goods can be easily identified. Firstly, there is the
environmental degradation that results from the extraction of minerals. For example,
there are about 1.5 billion cars in the world, and electric vehicles are promoted as an
environmentally friendly alternative to petrol, as this will cut down on emissions and
reduce reliance on fossil fuels. However, for the batteries alone of these electric cars, the
mining of minerals like cobalt and lithium will lead to massive habitat destruction across
the world. Secondly, consumption of goods creates mountains of toxic waste, most of
which is not bio-degradable, and often pollutes water sources and kills the wildlife which
depends on clean water.
Measures must be taken to reduce consumption and to develop recycling technology. In
terms of reducing consumption, too many consumer goods become obsolete too quickly.
Washing machines, computers, refrigerators, cars and televisions, for instance, should all
function for decades, and so there must be strict controls on production standards and
marketing. From a recycling perspective, advances in technology enable many
materials to be re-used, and governments must provide funding for more research in this
field. If more goods can be recycled, then there will be less depletion of natural
resources.
In conclusion, causes of environmental damage stemming from consumption are obvious
and reducing consumption and more recycling are part of the solution.