An increasing number of advertisements on TV aim at children. What are the effects of television advertising? Should television advertising be controlled?

1. ADVERTISING

Writing Task 2: An increasing number of advertisements on TV aim at children. What are the effects of television advertising? Should television advertising be controlled?

It is true that children are one of the largest target audience of a great deal of television commercials these days. Although these advertisements have some negative impacts on youngsters, I personally think it should not be regulated.

Being continuously exposed to manipulative television advertisements may result in bad consequences to the child development in terms of personality and health. Marketers are such talents in bombarding immature youngsters with messages that these products are so much cool that children will be super happy if they own it. When they are primed for a lifestyle of consumerism, they may become unreasonable and demanding. Also, several products being marketed can harmful to youngsters’ health and eating habits. Things like junk foods and drinks should not be advertised in a way that attract children. For example, how Coca Cola commercials advertise for a type of soft drink that is so refreshing that children cannot resist their temptation while watching these advertisements.

In fact, although I dislike these manipulative television commercials, I do not support a ban on them for some reasons. First of all, it is pretty problematic to enact such a ban because the target audience is quite broad. Besides, youngsters these days are exposed to many types of advertisements, not from a single resource. Second, it is the parents’ responsibility to make sure their children not led astray by unscrupulous marketing. More and more issues with children are being blamed for external factors, but no one really looks at the heart of the matter in that it’s parents’ job to raise and educate their children.

All in all, there are some downsides of the fact that a large proportion of TV advertising campaigns is focusing on youngsters. Parents should be the one to protect their children from these manipulative commercials rather than controlling them.

Writing Task 2: Some children can learn more efficiently by watching TV. Therefore, children should watch TV regularly both in school and at home? Do you agree or disagree?