An increasing number of advertisements on TV nowadays aim at children.

What are the effects of television advertising on children?

Do you think advertisements aimed at children should be controlled?

These days, more and more ads target children. In my opinion, advertisers using children’s gullibility to their advantage will leave lasting consequences to a child , and thus should be closely controlled.

On the one hand, the effects of advertising on children are varied, and mostly negative. To begin with, since children are too young to understand that not everything in an ad is true, advertisements often create false illusions and biases with the purpose of selling more products. A child will naïvely believe a toy is the best toy ever if an ad says so, turning parents into unwilling victims of consumerism. Constant exposure to advertising also disarrange children’s mindset, as many ads promote stereotypes by portraying groups in their traditional or stereotypical roles. Such stereotypes include linking specific groups to products, such as women with cleaning supplies and men with computers. These types of ads foster false beliefs about how certain people should behave and derail children’s future outlook.

In response to the aforementioned effects on children, I firmly believe that regulations on advertisements are necessary due to the following reasons. First, an early exposure to advertisement could lead to a higher level of childhood obesity. Food commercials on TV often aim to change children’s eating habits by encouraging a higher consumption of fast food or candy without any warning of the high content of fat or sugar. Overweight children are likely to stay obese until adulthood, which causes further issues such as higher associated medical costs or declining work productivity. In addition, the relationship between parents and children could also be severely affected. If parents refuse to succumb to children’s spending requests, children might be in denial and respond with passive-aggressive behaviors, which are unhealthy and emotionally uncomfortable for both parties.

In conclusion, most advertisements solely focus on boosting sales at the expense of children's cognitive development, and therefore should be strictly controlled or even limited.