It is not necessary to travel to other places to learn about other cultures. We can learn from books, films and internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that movies , books and the World Wide Web can teach us about foreign cultures as much as travelling does, and thus international travel is no longer needed if we wish to broaden our minds. From my perspective, I completely disagree with this opinion.

First, travelling is the only way to learn about a culture. Only by travelling could one be able to have the most realistic experience of the local people’s live. A culture revolves about how people of a certain country think, behave and believe. Many expatriates in Vietnam confess that before they came here, they never expected the country to be so dynamic and fast-growing, with millions of cars traversing on a daily basis. Books and movies about Vietnam, which mostly talk about the Vietnam War, portrait and imprint on their minds a much less exciting picture.

Second, passive sources of learning like the Internet could only provide knowledge about a culture, not the experience. Many people have learnt about the ancient Egyptian culture and their accomplishments like the pyramid through online articles or children books. However, such learning experience could never compare to a chance to stand in front of the 20-feet tall pyramid and marvel at its existence. Furthermore, one could learn many secret anectdotes about Pharaoahs and the pyramids from locals, many of which are unavailable online or never appear in any book or movie.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that books, films and the Internet could only introduce us to alien culture. If we desire to learn about them, travelling to the place and experience it ourselves is the only way.