Some people say that arts subjects such as painting or drawing should not be made compulsory for high school students.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many say that art classes should not be mandatory subjects in high school. From my perspective, I disagree with this opinion due to the following reasons.

On the one hand, art subjects should not be made compulsory because they do not guarantee a student's success. First, there is no evidence suggesting that art subjects can enhance academic performance. Many schools solely view painting or pottery as relaxation tools, and therefore put a higher emphasis on subjects that can help students better their SAT scores or college essays. In the long run, math and science are also believed to have a greater currency in the recruitment process. Recruiters from top companies like Apple and Google often rely on IQ questions rather than art-related ones to evaluate a candidate's competency. All in all, since art subjects add little value to a high school student, he should be given the choice whether to study them.

Nevertheless, I believe all high schoolers should be required to take a certain number of art classes. To begin with, these subjects encourage self-expression and the development of individual identity. Unlike most math problems with only one possible solution, students’ artworks come in all shapes and sizes. When painting or drawing, students are allowed to freely express their own thoughts and ideas, which eventually improves self-awareness and their ability to make future decisions in terms of occupation and relationship. Besides, today’s digital era opens up many career opportunities for those excelling in specific fields like graphic design or photography. If students are forced to learn art education, many of them would be able to explore their inner artistic talent of which they might not be aware beforehand and determine their future career as early as high school.

In conclusion, although some people think that art classes should not be made mandatory as they are useless for a student’s future, I firmly disagree with this statement because of the above arguments.