Nowadays, as women and men have to work full time, household duties should be equally divided.

Do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that men and women should take equal responsibility when it comes to household duties, since either of them could be in full-time employment these days. While I support this statement, I also believe there are better ways to deal with housework rather than dividing tasks equally among couples.

To begin with, there are two reasons why men and women should spend an equal amount of time on domestic work. First, there has been major changes in the structure of modern families over the last decades. Woman’s role is no longer associated with solely house chores, and many of them are now working as many hours as their male partners. A lot of men are becoming aware of the gender inequality in the division of housework, and therefore are more willing to share responsibility with their partners. Second, since women can now easily voice their opinions, conflicts might easily occur when household duties are unevenly divided. Many couples often argue over the dishes or laundry, which is one of the main contributors to a high rate of divorce in countries like the U.S.

However, I also believe there are other ways to handle household duties instead of trying to divide tasks evenly among men and women. Firstly, because it is difficult to equally divide household chores, many families decide to hire housemaids. This will not only help couples to avoid arguments but also focus better on their work, and therefore enhance work efficiency. In addition, parents can ask their children to be responsible for household duties. For example, many Vietnamese children are taught to clean the house or cook meals at an early age, which helps to ease the burden on parents and prepare important soft skills for them in the future.

In conclusion, although I agree that household tasks should be shared evenly between men and women, they could seek help from other people, be it a housemaid or their own children.