An increasing number of people are buying what they need online.

What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shop online?

It is true that there is a significant growth in the number of customers purchasing their needed things via shopping online. This tendency could bring particular merits in parallel with some demerits for both individuals and companies.

On the one hand, certain benefits can be offered by online shopping. Accordingly, digital commerce platforms such as Shoppee, Lazada, and Tiki are becoming more and more available, especially the youngster due to their convenience, time-saving, and labor-saving features. The users are able to buy kinds of stuff at a click of a button and compare the prices among a variety of shops with ease to get the best deal. Also, they do not have to commute from their houses to the shops by themselves under the severe weather, which is suitable for someone who has a hectic schedule. Otherwise, the companies which manage some e-commerce platforms can also take advantage of online shoppers’ demands. One of the biggest advantages of e-commerce to businesses that keep sellers interested in online selling is cost reduction. Many sellers have to spend a large amount of money to maintain their physical stores for decorations, advertisements, and rent. In contrast, an e-commerce store is affordable and requires less investment when compared with a physical store.

On the other hand, some drawbacks of this kind of shopping can be anticipated. Firstly, online shoppers can not be ensured about the real quality of the items and expose to fake products or low-quality goods. Because of believing in scammers in the virtual world, people can waste a big sum of money purchasing unworthy things. In addition, businesses have to face up to the fierce competition in the internet world. There is a wide range of companies engaged in online shopping competition, so big corporations always come up with more effective advertising promotions, marketing, and even more affordable products that could steal their business. If the committees do not give a wise strategy, the whole company will experience considerable losses.

In conclusion, although online shopping makes people more vulnerable to low-quality assurance, scammers, and leads businesses to a competitive environment, it’s a useful way that makes people's life easier and contributes to companies’ cost reduction.