An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shop online?

Along with the development of technology combined with various types of services, online shopping is now becoming more and more popular. Despite the fact that buying things online has many benefits, there are still some drawbacks that this kind of service affects both individuals and companies.

On the one hand, customers and companies are taking a lot of advantages from online purchases. First of all, instead of spending time deciding which stores to go and what clothes to wear when going out, people only need to search for products on the online shopping applications or websites such as Amazon, Shoppe, Lazada and so on. Various results will immediately appear on the screen and let the buyers choose for the one they are most satisfied with. An extraordinary feature that only cybershopping can provide to customers is coupons. The main purpose of these discounts is to reduce the price of the products or the price of shipping fees; which is a great opportunity for buyers to save their buying cost. Furthermore, companies can also cooperate with online shopping sites to promote their products to customers. Especially with the product review feature of the sites, companies will receive evaluations from customers in order to know the strengths and weaknesses of the products, thereby improving product quality.

On the other hand, there are some certain downsides of e-commerce that need to be mentioned. In terms of buyers, they only can evaluate the goods they intend to buy through images and information that sellers provide. Sometimes, in order to sell items, sellers might give false information about goods or take pictures from famous brands to deceive the customers. Individuals may suffer from financial loss and could not get it back. In terms of businesses, there are possibilities that they will encounter individuals who buy their products for joking purposes. When the goods are sent to the buyer, they refuse to accept the order; which costs the seller not only money but also order processing time.

In conclusion, online shopping has made people’s lives easier because of time-saving and more choices at lower prices. In contrast, fraud through the internet also brings inconveniences to both individuals and companies.