With the increasing popularity of computers and calculators, student literacy is decreasing dramatically. What are the positive and negative effects the progress of science and technology has brought about?

For the time being, technology has permeated every aspect of human lives and education has experienced a drastic change. With the aid of calculation and electronic devices, the likelihood of literacy of students is downward.

I take the view that science and technology has both definite advantages and distinct disadvantages.

On the one hand, there is plethora of different benefits of the revolution of scientific and technological areas in schooling. Firstly, students have more golden opportunities to make accessible to the latest technology which bolsters the intellectual growth of children much more effortlessly. They might broaden their horizon with the invention of digital platforms such as Youtube, Google.

Secondly, the technology is an underlaying contributor to handle those unique problems. For instance, in the outbreak of epedemic of covid 19, the vast majority of students in a global are required to administer the distance learning which prevents the hazard from catching at the lowest point. As a result, young-aged youngsters are able to endure their learning.

On the other hand, some severe problems should be mentioned which science and technology brought back. Firstly, juveniles have a tendency to overuse the hitech devices to gain their educational purposes. They are likely to ignore what teachers consider carefully in the class, in lieu of listening them repetively at home by those electric machines. For example, students at 7-8 are coerced into study the method of arithmethic,however, they use calculators to figure out the troublesome solutions which their peers may not ressolve. Their mathematic skills and the reservoir of knowledge will be gradually disappear. Secondly, the drastical concentration on computers is one of the root causes of being throne of ill associated with eyes such as myopi, hyperopia which have a long term negative repercussions for children.

To sum up, the development of techonology and science generally brings more pros for society. Nevertheless, it still remains some insignificant cons. The government should propose some stringent rules which get rid of the drawbacks effectively.