Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

It is argued that the best solution for growing traffic and pollution could be to rise the petrol price. Although I agree that it could be a correct solution, I think that there are more efficient ways to stop these problems.

On the one hand, if the price of petrol increases, people will be discouraged to move by car. For this reason, they are encouraged by the fact that there are other ways to move around the city or to reach a destination. In this case, a growth in the use of alternatives means of transport will be recorded. For instance, people colud move on foot or by public transport, and bike, which are not causes of the high level of pollution in the air.

On the other hand, statistics suggest us that petrol is not the unique cause of pollution and growing traffic. It is clear that there are many other reasons for those. Therefore, the increase of petrol price does not seem the best way to solve these problems. Moreover, in this way, the use of petrol could be reduced, but it is impossible to eliminate it definetely. For this reason, it is more correct to focus on the other causes and on their solution. For example, governments could introduce a tax for industries where exhaust fumes are produced, or the use of polluting chemicals should be banned.

In my opinion, though I agree that increasing the petrol price could be a good solution, I think that governments must pay attention to the consequences of this. If it happens, it will be avoided the facing of economic problems deriving from the high price of petrol. For this, there might be other measures which have to be taken as a prize for people who do more kilometres with non-polluting transports in a year.