Individual can do nothing to improve the environment, only government and big companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The question of whether each of us can be of help to the environment has been a matter of debate since the beginning of twenty-first century. While some people argue that only government and big companies have great effect on the environment, I believe that we all have to show a sense of responsibility for protecting our planet.

First of all, every small deed we have done has a great deal of negative impacts on the environment. People tend to think that they can do nothing to make the world better, they therefore neglect the nature. Tiny acts such as picking up litters, throwing garbage or urinating in proper places can bring a range of benefits for the earth. Moreover, cognitive development of each individual is of paramount importance. We must enhance our awareness of environmental problems, which can lead to a lot of beneficial acts.

On the other hand, both government and big companies have serious influence on citizen. With regard to the government, they can enter upon environmental campaigns in order to save the planet as well as heighten people's sense of environment. As for big companies, their products are the fundamental element in spreading messages to the customers. If companies provide eco-friendly products or services, it will completely affect customers' minds as well as satisfy their needs. As a result, clients and companies not only receive reciprocal benefits but also preserve and improve the nature.

In conclusion, although those who argue that the ecosystem is only made better by the government and big companies, I believe that everyone has duty along with responsibility to protect the environment.