Individuals should not be allowed to carry guns as it increases the crime and violence in the society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views with regard to the question of whether individual persons have the right to carry guns or not. In my opinion, however, I think that gun ownership should be prohibited due to a sharp rise of crime and violence in the society.

On the one hand, people should be allowed to use guns for the sake of self-protecting from criminal activities, especially when they need to use in self defense. For example, when they were walking down the street and meet pickpocketing criminals who carry a knife, they should be entitled to use their guns and this deters criminals.

On the other hand, I strongly believe that authorities should put a ban on gun ownership for a variety of reasons. In fact, the number of violent crimes increases when guns are available, resulting in many out of control crimes in these societies. Take an example of the US, a nation which permits the use of guns in comparison with Japan where ownership guns are restricted: In 2014, while America experienced over 18000 gun-related homicides, the figure for Japan was just 14. This is quite an alarming comparison revealing how firearms ownership link to violence increase. Furthermore, suicide rates have been shown to upsurge when guns are available, especially teenagers in these countries. It would result in the phenomenon that guns would shape violent societies with high murder rates.

In conclusion, although some people believe that the use of guns should be widely accepted, I personally reckon that governments should apply prohibition policy so as to deter violence and crime rates in the societies.