Cycling is a healthy and environmentally friendly form of transport. Nevertheless, cycling is getting less popular. What are the reasons of this trend? What can be done to make cycling more popular?

It is often argued that travelling by bicycle exerts positive impacts upon people’s health and the environment but it is getting more unpopular. Because there are some major causes of this phenomenon, it should be taken steps to mitigate this potential problem.

On the one hand, several related problems can be anticipated with regard to the low popularity of cycling. The main problem would be that life is getting busier so people demand a more modern mode of transport such as: motorbikes, cars, which would take less time to travel. Secondly, cycling is more physically demanding than driving their own cars or riding their motorbikes. This would discourage people from this method, especially in case of hot climate or employees have to commute from and to their workplaces which are far from their houses.

There are several actions that could take to solve the problems mentioned above. A simple solution would be that governments should launch campaigns or advertise through media to raise citizen’s awareness about the profound effects of cycling, which thereby will encourage inhabitants to cycle more, especially through short distances. A second measure is imposing heavy taxes on petrol. In London, for example, there is a congestion charge which has helped a lot in betting public transport. Finally, more lanes should be built serving only for cyclists, resulting in higher speed of travelling.

In conclusion, although cycling doubtlessly a useful kind of transport not only for people’s health but also for the environment, I personally reckon that various measures should be taken to improve the higher use of bikes.