Instead of asking the government to bear the cost of higher education, students should pay their own tuition fees themselves. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people consider it necessary for the government to subsidise all universities to ensure that eligible students can attend college free of charge. I do not agree with this idea, although students of low socio-economic status can be exempted from tuition fees.

First, higher education is more of a lifetime investment that students make for their future than a compulsion. Some students choose to receive higher education because they can get self-improvement in college and find better work opportunities when they step into society. For example, students can learn various things at college and widen their horizons, they can also get specialized knowledge attainment. The staggering cost of tuition fees can also be a pressure making students take opportunities more seriously. Furthermore, students who have difficulties paying for their tuition can apply the education loans provided by the government which has low interests and can be easily repaid after college.

On the other hand, many of the high school graduates are pretty mediocre academically, making it free for them to spend several years in universities may be a waste of their time and the public educational resources, cause they may spend a lot of time on recreation and skipping classes rather than studying. Instead, they can choose to attend vocational training which is beneficial for their future jobs. By comparison, primary and secondary education deserve more of government expenditure as students are still deemed as minors, who are not legally permitted to work as paid employees. Postgraduate programs are also in need of financial support from the state, as without such support universities would lose the battle with the private sector for talented researchers.

To sum up, students from disadvantaged backgrounds can be made exempt from tuition fees, while it is not acceptable to abolish tuition fees for everybody.