International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment.

Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

Around the world, tourism industry is proving beneficial for different places by not only generating good revenue but also creating employment opportunities. However, there are some possible drawbacks of international tourism as it has negative effects on local inhabitants and the environment. Nonetheless, I firmly believe that if both pros and cons are considered the merits of tourism surpass the demerits.

On the one hand, international tourism is advantageous in many ways. Firstly, it contributes towards revenue generation for the country. In addition, it plays a significant role in creating employment prospects for local people. For instance, a country like Dubai has oil industry for generating income but apart from that there is no other source of income generation. However, a large number of tourists visits Dubai, thanks to Dubai's world class tourist attraction. Secondly, to accommodate international tourists many local people do jobs in different companies which facilitates the tourists. Hence, the local people and the Government in the tourist places are benefited by the tourism.

On the other hand, despite many advantages of international tourism there are some disadvantages too. It affects local inhabitants as well as the environment because to make the place more alluring to tourists the natural surroundings are modified which eventually damages the nature. Moreover, it also destroys the habitat of local animals. As many people are dependent on the tourism business, there are times when tourists are not visiting and the local people find difficulty in earning money for living then.

In conclusion, international tourism has its positive and negative impact but the merits like more income and employment overshadow the demerits.