International tourism has brought enormous benefits to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do disadvantages outweigh the advantages?

International Tourism has globally brought a lot of beneficial impacts to many places, and also its influences on indigenous people and the environment. I personally believe that international tourism would bring about more significant disadvantages that I will outline in the following essay.

Firstly, perhaps, the main drawback for this issue is that global tourism tends to make the local region landscape is considered to become more commercial. This is because many tourism facilities such as luxurious villas or five-star hotels are built in order to support tourism activities. By establishing these amenities, local inhabitants may feel disturbed and pressed by unpleasant situations, such as noises and crowds continuously. Another adverse effect is the existence of acculturation. this happens as that the younger generation pays more attention to foreign culture rather than local wisdom. In this case, they are generally attracted and try to imitate it obviously. As a result, when local wisdom is being forgotten slowly, it would definitely be the ground for the disappearance of precious aspects of native society.

Turning to essential impacts, it is irrefutable that one of the advantages for this issue is enlarging job opportunities. This means that, local residents can become a guide or open a traditional food restaurant and sell unique souvenirs, ranging from trinkets to traditional clothing. Thus, they can directly promote local culture while earning income. Moreover, global tourism opens larger opportunities not only for the indigenous dwellers but also the places to be well-known around the world. For example, when the destination is properly managed, it would be attractive for both travelers and backpackers.

In summary, it seems to me that making the local landscape to become commercial and ignoring local wisdom are substantial drawbacks. Thus, this outweighs its potential benefits.