International tourism has brought enormous benefits to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do disadvantages outweigh the advantages?

International tourism has many positive sides to many areas, but, which affects indigenous people and environment surroundings. I believe the consequences significantly affect to indigenous people and their surroundings, including problems caused by foreigners and landscape changes. I will elucidate these point of views in the following paragraphs.

On the one hand, international tourism is beneficial to local residents. First, local residents can show their origin culture in front of travellers. This can be done by showing local dance or selling local food. By this, foreign people would recognize the uniqueness of the region. Second, it could support local economic growth. Sometimes, places which are adored by foreign people are located in poor area whose several people are jobless or have a low income. If international tourism existed, it would provide more job opportunities for local inhabitants as a tour guide or merchandise seller. Therefore, the regional economic condition would rise gradually because of world traveler.

On the other hand, we should consider about several drawbacks of this issue. In several area, there are a problem caused by foreign people because they ignore local customs. Some places usually have unwritten customs that tourists should be aware of. To cite an example, foreigners in Bali Island speed up their vehicles when indigenous people did religious ceremonial in the road in previous year. Surely, this case generated resetlessness in society. In addition, if local area is developed into tourist area, some landscapes would possibly change. By this, more and more public facilities such as villa, access road, or club would be built by government or local entrepreneurs in order to make easiness for worldwide travellers. Indirectly, the amount of green area would recude significantly.

In conclusion, it seems that the global tourism’s disadvantages outweight the advantages. These include social discourage by impolite tourists and reduction of green open space areas.