International tourism has brought enormous benefits to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do disadvantages outweigh the advantages?

International tourism has many positive sides to many areas, but, which affects indigenous people and environment surroundings. I believe the consequences significantly affect to indigenous people and their surroundings, including problems caused by foreigners and landscape changes. I will elucidate these point of views in the following paragraphs.

On the one hand, international tourism is beneficial to indigenous people. First, local residents can show their local wisdom in front of travellers. This can be done by showing traditional dance or selling traditional food. By this, foreign people would recognize the uniqueness of the region. Second, it could support local economic growth. This is because international tourism would provide more job opportunities for local inhabitants as tour guides or merchants. Therefore, the regional economic condition would rise gradually because of the existence of world travellers.

On the other hand, we should consider several drawbacks of this issue. In several areas, there are problems caused by visitors coming from other countries because they ignore local customs. Some places usually have unwritten ethical norms that settlers should be aware of. To cite an example, foreigners in Bali Island committed an inappropriate behaviour, such as speeding up their vehicles when indigenous people celebrated worship traditions the road in previous year. Surely, this case generated restlessness in society. In addition, if the local area were developed into tourism destinations, some landscapes would possibly change. By this, more and more public facilities such as villas, access roads, or clubs would be built by government or local entrepreneurs in order to provide accommodation for the visitors Indirectly, the amount of green area would reduce significantly.

In conclusion, it seems that the global tourism’s disadvantages outweigh the advantages. These include social unpleasantness by impolite tourists and reduction of green open space areas.