International travel is becoming cheaper and countries are opening their doors to more and more tourists. Do the advantages of increased tourism outweigh the disadvantages?

Much attention has been drawn to whether a large number of nations welcoming global citizens to cross their borders is a positive improvement. On the one hand, this globalization phenomenon provides valuable experience for each individual. However, on the other hand, some cultural aspects might be negatively affected due to not well thought out action of tourists.

In term of benefits, the governments offer an opportunity for their citizens by making international travel more affordable. In particular, people who dream of setting their feet onto a faraway land and experiencing the authentic lifestyle of any foreign culture can make their dream come true. For instance, Americans in the past who were interested in the Japanese culture could only appreciate the beauty via platform such as anime and manga, along with the media. They, nowadays, can even taste Takoyaki, fit on the Kimono or participate in sushi making classes after just a few hours on economy-class flights. On top of that, the tourism industry will be developed, bringing high additional income for every country.

As far as disadvantages are concerned, public facilities damage is a major one. It is undeniable that there will always be individual who does not realize how important some objects are to the local people. Consider a family which is on a holiday to another country with the kids. Not only might the kids run back and forth making loud noise in places like a war museum, but they might also break or move the artifacts on display. These actions will lead to an unpleasant situation for both the parents as well as the museum staff. Although many people are polite and courteous, some specific religious rules, such as not wearing shorts to the church and pagoda or not talking while ceremony is conducted, are disregarded.

In conclusion, the benefits of boosted tourism are as significant as the drawbacks. Even though this essay believes giving everyone the chance to discover the world is a wonderful forward step in the course of history, each of us much take the responsibility to learn the culture and respect the citizens of nation that we are going to.