International travel is becoming cheaper, and countries are opening their doors to more and more tourists. Do the advantages of increased tourism outweigh its disadvantages?

The global travel industry has witnessed a massive growth in the recent decade, attributable to the rise of the low-cost carrier business model. As a result, nations around the world are embracing international tourism as an essential source of economic growth. I believe the advantages of welcoming foreign tourists far outweigh the corresponding disadvantages as long as certain risks are adequately controlled.

Tourism has long been the lifeblood of many economies around the world as well as a tool to carry out international politics. The money that foreign travelers bring to another country creates vital short-term and long-term impacts. In the short-term, the expenses paid by tourists go directly to the local populace, improving their livelihood. Thailand probably serves as the best example as many coastal cities such as Pattaya or Phuket have become a heaven for people who want to make a good living. In the long-term, private companies, sensing income opportunities, will heavily invest funds into the country, region, or city. These funds will further boost the wealth of the nation. Besides, tourism also plays an integral part in maintaining a balance in global politics by making countries closer and friendlier to each other. The relationship between Vietnam and Korea clearly illustrates how two countries can move from foes to friends by promoting each other’s tourism industry.

Nothing comes without some drawbacks. The growth in international travel has brought up many concerns regarding environmental damages, health issues, and criminal activities. The influx of people to a new destination often creates monumental challenges in waste management. In 2018, the situation was so dire that the government of the Philippines had to shut down Boracay, a hugely attractive traveling destination, for six months to clean out the trash. Airborne diseases, such as SARS or MERS, are also spread faster due to tourism. It is also notable that crime rates have risen sharply in popular holiday spots. However, all of the stated problems can be well handled if governments and nations around the world can cooperate efficiently to promote positive tourism practices. For example, the Southeast Asian countries have created a shared database of people with health risk to track contagious disease movements around the region.

In conclusion, increased tourism will bring about great positive benefits despite certain containable shortcomings. It is expected that countries and companies around the world will further direct their efforts to promote the travel industry.