International travel is becoming cheaper, and countries are opening their doors to more and more tourists. Do the advantages of increased tourism outweigh its disadvatages?

The international tourism industry has increased dramatically due to the fact that countries are more open to tourists. Accompanying such a trend is a package of several advantages and disadvantages. In my point of view, the latter is not outweigh but rather both are balanced each other.

To begin with, there are detrimental effects brought by the industry of mass tourism. The first to name in the list is the impact on the environment. Emerged resorts and hotels or other types of tourist attraction destroyed the local natural habitat. For example, in Vietnam, resorts have been illegally constructed opposite to the beach in order to welcome more tourists with its beautiful views. this blocks the wind flow from the sea to the land, therefore, make it hotter than before. Furthermore, the living costs also rose as the effect of the flock of tourists. Pressure is put on local presidents especially for those who have low income.

On the other hand, mass tourism is a tremendous source of income for the nation in general. When tourists arrives, they spend money for accommodations, services or entertainment, and this is the substantial revenues. such revenues not only benefit the local business but also profit the government in form of taxation. Moreover, employment rate will increase because of the huge demanding in occupations such as hotel or resort staffs, tour guides or chefs.

In conclusion, for all the reasons mentioned above, I deem that the advantages and disadvantages of the issue are balanced themselves. it also can be predicted that, mass tourism will still be increased.