International travel is becoming cheaper, and more and more countries open their door and with more and more tourists.Do the advantages of the increased tourism outweigh its disadvantages?

Thanks to the development of transportation, people in modern society can travel to almost all countries in the world. Some of the popular tourist spots had been visited by more tourists than they did before. Although the tourism industry may become a majority source of income in some countries, negative impacts on daily lives cannot be ignored. From my perspective, boosting the tourism industry is a double-edged sword.

Boosting tourism industry leads to economic growth. People can earn more money and improve their living quality by engaging in the industry. Take Vietnam for example, tour guides can earn much more than the average salary of other kinds of jobs, and thus becoming a popular choice of job within students graduated from colleges. Aside from improving the economy, developing the tourism industry can also build a good reputation for the country. The international visibility may be raised by more and more visitors, and build up a virtuous cycle to attract much more tourist to visit the country. As a result, many countries put their eye on developing the tourism industry.

By contrast, there is some negative side effect caused by the trend. First of all, the scenery spot may become too crowded to live in. For instance, Venice has attracted millions of people to visit in the past few years, but the local people keep moving out of the city because of the increasing number of tourists. Besides, international tourists may offend the lifestyle of local people, such as Islamic culture or Buddhist belief in some countries. Last but not least, the overwhelmed visitors may lead to damage of resources: both cultural heritage and natural resources. Some governments, such as Austria, have started to concern the issue. Thus, they restricted the numbers of tourists in the resort.

In conclusion, the international tourism industry indeed plays a critical role of the economy in some countries, but the drawbacks still cannot be ignored.