Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation.What might be be the case?What could be disadvantages of being self-employed?

The development of technology has changed our lives greatly. With the help of computers and other digital devices, people nowadays can independently complete more tasks than in the past. While some people choose to become self-employed, others may argue the lifestyle is not an efficient way to live. In this easy, I will discuss the reasons and the negative effects of this phenomenon.

The trend may be caused by two main reasons. Firstly, people nowadays purchasing a different lifestyle than before. In the past, owning a stable job in a big company was important to people. However, to strike a balance between private life and work, some people choose to arrange jobs by themselves in modern society. To be a self-employed person, people can make a decision on what or when they would like to work for. Secondly, many people believe that being self-employed earns more money than the staff of companies. They can complete all the tasks by themselves, saving lots of cost of hiring others. Thus, choosing to be employed by themselves become an obvious trend in today society.

Although the lifestyle seems great, there are some drawbacks. People may earn more money than they did in the company, but need to take the risk of the business cycle. The salary may be unstable or insufficient in a bad economic situation. Besides, without colleagues, self-employees have fewer chances to network with others in the same industry. Also, they may need to solve problems all by themselves. This may cause some bad decision making or poor quality of performance. The negative effects may be carefully considered by people while they choose to become a self-employee.

In conclusion, many people nowadays desire to be their own boss of both their job and life. However, the risk of being a self-employee still need to be concerned before we make a decision.