International travel is becoming cheaper and more countries are opening their doors to increase the number of tourists. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages ?

Nowadays, travelling abroad becomes cheaper and more nations try to attract more vacationers. This leads to a recent argument among our community who wonders the impact of it. Hence, to settle the dispute, a further discussion will be given below.

To begin with, tourists can harm the local cultures. this is to say that they will bring new habits which are unsuitable for the domestic people. A typical example is Indonesia; there, it is mandatory for girls to wear clothing which covers almost all of their body parts. Nevertheless, foreigners influence fashion styles like wearing bikini and crop-tops which are strongly against the domestic rule. Obviously, vacationers may have a negative impact towards country’s particular tradition.

On the other hand, development owns its benefits and drawbacks. Even though rise in the number of tourists may harm the nation’s culture, local businesses will bolster. This may happen since tourists will spend their money for domestic businesses, such as purchasing souvenirs and eating traditional dishes. Subsequently, generating lucrative amount of cash for them. Needless to say, having more foreigners, locals’ prosperity may surge.

Additionally, unemployment rates may plunge as there are more vacationers. This is mainly due to more investments are made by global corporations in form of accommodation. Consequently, these new hotels will hire employees from the neighborhood. Clearly, the growth of tourists will contributes to the increase of job vacancies, since there are more sites being built.

To conclude, after having some points above, although having more tourists may have a side effect for local cultures, the advantages from different perspective outweigh the disadvantages. This is because of the increase in domestic wealth and employment rate.