International travel is becoming cheaper than before, so more and more countries are opening their doors to tourists. Do the advantages of increased

tourism outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, there is an increase in the number of nations developing their tourism as global travel is becoming cheaper. While this tendency could cause several issues, I believe that its benefits are more superior.

On the one hand, there are a variety of disadvantages when nations become more concentrated on tourism. Firstly, it is hard to maintain travel destinations’ initial shape. This is because there are several kinds of visitors and maybe some parts of them do not have good behaviors and do reckless actions that harm the scenery. As a result, the government has to spend a large amount of money for maintenance and refurbishment. Secondly, it also has detrimental impacts on the environment. It is clear that the increase in the number of visitors makes the amount of waste grow rapidly. If these waste is not properly treated, especially plastic, it would contaminate the air, land and water.

On the other hand, the development of tourism brings several advantages to a country. First of all, it could help a nation develop its economy. Indeed, tourism accounts for a major proportion in economic development factors. The growth of tourism could improve both agriculture and the hospitality industry because the requirements about food, transportation and accommodation are higher. Secondly, it gives great opportunities for local people to exchange knowledge. Foreign visitors can bring their knowledge as well as experiences to a country and share with local people. Therefore, locals can learn a lot of new things and apply some of these good things to their life.

In conclusion, although the advancement of tourism has some negative effects, I maintain it can help a country develop its economy and local people improve their knowledge. In my opinion, the government should encourage tourism and implement some policies for better control.