International travel has many advantages to both travelers and the country visited. Do you think advantages outweigh disadvantages.

There has been a topic of debate as to whether cross-border travel exerts more positive or negative influenes on visitors as well as the host country. Personally, despite some drawbacks, the values of international travel are more significant.

On the one hand, travelling internationally brings about several negative impacts. First, with regard to travellers, travel expenses in famous tourists destinations, Sydney for example, are very expensive. In addition, they have to follow a lot of complicated procedures, such as applying for a visa or booking ticket and accommodation. For the countries which play host to international tourists, the increase in costs of living might lay much pressure on local people. Because when the number of foreign visitors rises, the services costs, such as hotel rooms and other services, will also see an increase, which could be a detriment to the domestic travel. Besides, other people or countries in the neighborhood would also suffer in comparison.

On the other hand, the merits of cross-cultural journeys also vary. First, travelling abroad provides visitors with a large number of fascinating experiences of exotic cuisine and culture. When people go to another country, they will be exposed to different customs and see places which they have never seen before. For instance, travellers who pay a visit to Vietnam will have opportunities to use chopsticks, enjoy traditional meals and go sightseeing around the country. Therefore, they can gain more knowledge and practice some personal skills. Second, regarding the country visited, this helps to enhance tourism industry, which contributes directly to the wealth of the nation. Undoubtedly, tourism plays an important role in the development of a country. If tourists have pleasant experiences and enjoy their trips, it is possible that they will recommend the destinations to their friends and families, or come back in the future.

In conclusion, although international travel have caused some negative impacts on both visitors and the host countries, I do believe that its merits are more notable.